I keep repeating myself!

Hello people

It is a long time since I wrote a blog. I think if I’m being honest I thought they would be more popular than they were so I slid away in the hope that nobody noticed. I waited for the “Where are you, we miss you” comments, and I’m still waiting a year later. Perhaps something came up and you never had time. Yes, that’s it!

So why am I back now? Well, I am going to mention another mind blowing episode in my life that will have you all sitting up in your chair, riveted to my every word. But before I press on I shall give you a couple of minutes to write a “So glad you’re back” message. ………………………………! That’s long enough. I shall read them all after and thank you for your kind words – in advance.

A lot has happened but at this point in time I want to leave most of the information so that you can’t wait for the next blog. A bit like the end of Eastenders. Keep ’em wanting more!!! I have had a few medical problems. Not much, just my liver, lungs, chest, memory and left knee to name a few. In the past few months I have visited many different hospitals and have thought about writing a Who’s-Who of the NHS world. I’ve almost got my very own parking spot.

The memory problem is the best because I tend to forget about all the other problems I have. The first two appointments I had – firstly I forgot what time it was, and secondly I forgot how to get there. This is both true. I went again today and the psychologist called me last week and asked me if I could make today. I told her I would check my appointments and I would call her back. Next day she called me to say she thought I was calling her back. I said I had forgot!!

My sense of direction is diabolical and well known to everyone who knows me. I went to the next town about three miles away. Coming home I found myself totally in the wrong direction and unsure how to get home. Another time I was delivering leaflets and did a lot of walking, so much so that I didn’t recognise where I was in my own town. I called my wife to explain I was lost, and could she come and get me. After telling her what landmarks I could see she worked out that I was about fifteen steps round the corner to our local Tesco, which is half a mile from our house. Never been that side of Tesco. Had no reason to. I even stopped and asked someone where I was. They looked at me rather odd and walked off. I think they had seen me pass several times. I even went to put a leaflet in a house where the woman was standing by the door. She told me that she already had two leaflets, both delivered by me. Come to think of it, I did feel a little dizzy.

So now I rely on my sat nav. It tells me where to go, when to turn, what exit to take on the roundabout etc. Brilliant. If only I could get something that will tell me where I put my glasses/keys/wallet/phone/drink/shoes. That would be good. I also have this habit of repeating myself. I also have this habit of repeating myself which people say is very annoying. And I attempt to open what I think will be an extremely interesting conversation only to be told that we have just spent thirty minutes all talking about exactly that.

There are benefits. I can watch programmes I have seen before, or read a book that I have read before and it seems like it is the first time as I have completely forgotten who is who and what is happening. And I also have this habit of repeating myself!

As for all the other ailments. I have to have a biopsy of my lung and also my liver. I asked if it can be done at the same time, like buy one get one free. The consultant laughed like I had just cracked a joke. I was serious, while they are in there may as well save time and hit it both. Mind you, I suppose it is like a pregnant woman having a caesarean and whilst there whip out the old appendix. I pretended it was just a joke and we all laughed with such merriment. But I thought “Why not?”

The left knee will have to be replaced I’m afraid, just like the right knee already has. But they are telling me that I need to lose weight first. I went on a diet four weeks ago. The first week after – nothing. The second I lost two pounds – yay!! The third I put a pound back on and the fourth I stayed the same. Four weeks. lost a pound. This is not as easy as it looks. I have tried to trick the machine like standing naked in Boots the chemist, but it didn’t make any difference and the policeman told me it to stick to it. The diet that is, not the machine.

But having said all of this, life is not so bad that I am letting these things affect my life. I can still walk okay albeit with one foot in the road with the other on the pavement to square it up. The lungs and liver I’m sure will be fine and I await the results of the biopsies to see whether I will still be able to play the piano. And as for the memory, I am sure that will be okay too as long as I can stop repeating myself.

Now, I’m off to read all those “Glad you are back” and the “Can’t wait till the next hilarious blog” messages. I have a feeling this may take awhile.

Now what was I saying?

Goodbye!

Leave a comment